What looks wrong?

We say this article was researched and checked. If it is wrong, we want the counter-example.

Skip to content
Desmond Achebe

Oct 29, 202616 min read

Price it on your real volume, not the tier label, because Mailjet's listed plan price is only the entry fee, and that holds just as much if you're wiring sends into a workflow tool like Activepieces as when you send by hand.

The bill is set by four limits the plan name hides.

Mailjet pricing is the tiered subscription structure for Mailjet's email marketing and transactional sending platform, where the monthly cost depends on email volume, a daily send cap, contact and feature limits, and paid add-ons rather than on the plan's listed price alone.

On 2026-10-29, every figure in this article was read from the pricing page of Mailjet, an email platform that handles both marketing campaigns and transactional sending.

Expect the total to land somewhere other than the number the pricing page leads with, which is a plan name and a monthly figure. Four things decide where, and any one of them can push you up a tier even when the other three fit:

Mailjet pricing in 2026: the short answer

  • Daily send cap
  • Monthly email volume tier
  • Feature gates by plan
  • Add-ons such as dedicated IP and extra users

The sections below take each in turn and work out what it does to the invoice of a team sending at production volume, not demo volume.

Mailjet sends two kinds of email from one account. Marketing email covers newsletters and campaigns built in its editor and sent to contact lists. Transactional email covers receipts, password resets and notifications, sent through an API or SMTP relay.

Because both draw on the same account, a plan sized for one can be undersized for the other. Check which kind of traffic you are actually budgeting for before comparing any two prices.

Where these Mailjet pricing figures come from

Nothing here comes from a sales quote: every price and limit is from Mailjet's public pricing page as it read on 2026-10-29.

I distrust any price I can only understand by booking a call, so where a figure isn't published, I say so instead of estimating it.

Before trusting any number here, re-read the page: pricing pages change without notice.

A scheduled Activepieces workflow can do that check, and a ten-step version (fetch, parse, compare, flag, notify) costs the same 1 credit per run as a two-step one, because Activepieces meters the run and not the steps inside it.

Zapier's per-task billing and Make's per-module billing, both on their own pricing pages, charge more for every step you add, which taxes the careful build. A stale figure in a budget costs more than the hour it takes to check.

If you are running this arithmetic for your own team, see what the same workload costs on Activepieces.

View all Mailjet plans, prices and limits

Read on 29 October 2026, the figures below have gaps that matter as much as the numbers.

Plan table with prices, volumes and daily caps

All four rows have a published price and monthly email volume on the Mailjet pricing page, though not every limit is listed. Every other row is a number you must confirm against your own volume before it goes into a budget.

Plan Starting monthly price Monthly emails Daily send limit Contacts Users Features
Free $0 6,000 200 1,000 not stated not stated
Starter $9 8,000 not stated 2,000 not stated 1 subaccount
Essential $19 15,000 not stated not stated not stated 500 email address validations, 500 email previews/month
Premium $29 15,000 not stated not stated not stated 2,000 email previews/month, 1 dedicated IP

Send every day with no spikes and the monthly allowance is reachable, since Free's 200 a day multiplied by 30 days is exactly 6,000, which means this plan doesn't suit unpredictable sending patterns.

Thirty daily slots, one oversized envelope

A single campaign to all 1,000 contacts would take five days to go out.

How the price steps up as volume rises

From $29 a month at 15,000 emails to $499 at 500,000, Premium's bill rises, according to RevenueFlow, making it expensive for large-scale operations. The jumps in between show where the cost lands:

How Mailjet Premium's monthly price rises with volume

  • 50,000 emails costs $59, about $1.18 per thousand.
  • 100,000 emails costs $112, so doubling your volume nearly doubles the bill.
  • 250,000 emails costs $265, which is $153 more than the 100,000 tier for 150,000 extra emails, so the midmarket pricing has limited discounts.
  • 500,000 emails costs $499, about $1.00 per thousand, by which you can estimate costs for your own high-volume scenario.

$1.93 per thousand at 15,000 falls to $1.00 at 500,000. The monthly total only goes up, meaning higher volumes always mean higher total costs. A growing list never gets cheaper in absolute terms.

Rising stairs of envelopes with shrinking price tags

Whether campaign sends and API sends draw on the same daily cap, the table doesn't say. Find that out before you pick a tier, because a receipt or password reset that waits behind a newsletter queue is a failure no volume discount repays.

What does Mailjet cost at different volumes?

Expect the bill to climb more slowly than the volume does; the three scenarios below show where each jump comes from.

The chart that follows prices a month at the cheapest plan that fits 5,000, 50,000 and 200,000 emails, starting at Starter for $9, moving to Essential 50k at $40, and reaching a Premium tier priced between $112 and $265 depending on the slider, so you can identify which tier matches your volume.

You find your cost by identifying which volume bracket you fit.

Take from it the shape of the steps, not the plan names. The cost per thousand emails is lowest at the bottom, and the real spread sits inside the top bar.

Small newsletter at 5,000 emails

At 5,000 emails, Starter at $9 covers the volume, which works out to under two dollars per thousand sends. That's the number the pricing page leads with, and it's accurate for a sender who needs nothing beyond sending.

Send the whole issue in one batch and a 5,000-email monthly total can still break the daily cap. Check how your list is spread across days before trusting the monthly figure.

Store at 50,000 emails with automations

, so the per-thousand cost falls below the newsletter's. The arithmetic stops being clean once automations enter.

Abandoned-cart and post-purchase flows are the reason a store buys email at all.

If a flow, a contact limit or a feature you need sits behind a higher tier, the plan that fits your volume is no longer the plan that fits your store. Price the features first, then the sends.

If a flow, a contact limit or a feature you need sits behind a higher tier, the plan that fits your volume is no longer the plan that fits your store.

High-volume sender at 200,000 emails

Premium is the only tier in this comparison with a range instead of a price, and the range is the point.

A bill anywhere from $112 to $265 means the slider setting, not the plan name, decides what you pay, and the top of that range is more than double the bottom.

One slider, two very different bars

Work out your real monthly volume and contact count before you open the slider, and treat any plan whose price you can only confirm by talking to sales as unpriced. The chart gives you the floor; your own numbers set the ceiling.

Hidden costs and limits Mailjet users hit

In three places the bill moves away from the headline price:

  • the free plan's daily sending cap
  • features sold as separate monthly add-ons
  • overage rates once you pass your plan's volume

The daily sending cap on the free plan

Send a newsletter to your whole list in one burst and a 6,000-email monthly allowance means little, because the daily cap can stop it partway through.

The free plan limits how many emails you can send per day, not just per month. Any send that lands in a single day should be checked against the cap before you count the plan as free.

On top of the entry plan, Mailjet's pricing page charges for several features. Logo removal and segmentation unlock at Essential ($19 a month); automation, A/B testing and multi-user access come with Premium ($29 a month).

Which Mailjet features cost more than the entry plan

If you need all five, that's $125 a month before a single email is sent, which can exceed the base plan itself.

Mailjet dedicated IP, extra user and support costs

Add a second teammate and you have triggered a billing event, not a seat: multi-user access is the $29 add-on above, which means team expansion incurs additional monthly cost.

A dedicated IP is also an upgrade rather than a default, and it only pays off at volumes high enough to build your own sender reputation.

Support also varies by tier, so check what your plan includes before you depend on it during a deliverability problem.

Go over your plan's volume and it is billed as overage per 1,000 emails. The rate falls as you move up, per Mailjet's documentation: $2.58 on the 15k plan, $1.52 on 50k, $1.39 on 100k, $1.25 on 250k and $1.20 on 500k.

What Mailjet charges for extra emails on each plan

$25.80 is what going 10,000 emails over on the 15k plan costs, while the same overage on the 50k plan costs $15.20, so plan selection directly impacts your total bill. A small plan that you regularly outgrow can therefore cost more than the next tier up.

Worth checking against a plan that does not meter every step: one credit covers a whole run on Activepieces.

Mailjet against Brevo, Mailchimp and SendGrid on price

On the sticker, Mailjet looks cheapest of the four. That advantage holds only while your volume stays under its daily cap and your contact count stays inside the tier, which is the outgrowing problem again. Figures were checked in October 2026.

Mailjet pricing comparison table with competitors

To see what each vendor meters, whether the entry tier carries a daily cap, and what sits behind a higher plan, use the table below.

Read it for the meter rather than the sticker price: the meter decides which of your numbers (emails sent or contacts stored) drives the bill.

Pricing meter Daily cap on the entry tier What is gated
Mailjet Emails sent Yes, on the free plan Branding removal, sub-accounts, dedicated IP, some features by tier
Brevo Emails sent Yes, on the free plan Branding removal, advanced automation and reporting
Mailchimp Contacts stored Limits set by plan Features by tier, with cost rising as the list grows
Twilio SendGrid Emails sent Varies by plan Dedicated IP, email validation, higher-tier tooling

Rarely mail a large list and it is cheap on the three that bill on emails and expensive on Mailchimp. Mail a small list daily and that flips, and a daily cap then matters more than the plan name.

Where Mailjet is cheaper and where it is not

Mailjet is cheaper when your sending is steady, your list is large and you need nothing from the gated column. Against Mailchimp's contact-based meter, a big dormant list costs you nothing extra here.

It stops being cheaper when you send in bursts, because a daily cap turns a launch day into a forced upgrade.

It also loses ground once you need a dedicated IP or sub-accounts, because each is an add-on that the headline price never included.

Price the plan on your busiest day and your full feature list, then compare the four totals.

Choosing the right Mailjet plan for your volume

Pick the plan whose limit you'll hit last:

  • Free's daily send cap for light use
  • Essential's feature gates for growing lists
  • Premium or another provider once volume or deliverability needs outgrow both

Read the third column as the trigger for paying more, not as a recommendation to upgrade early. The table below sets each sender profile against the limit that binds first.

Sender profile Best-fit plan Binding limit Move up or switch when
Testing Free Daily cap A single campaign or load test exceeds one day's allowance
Small newsletter Free, then Essential Daily cap, then feature gates Your list needs a full send in one day, or you need features Free withholds
Ecommerce Essential or Premium Feature gates Segmentation and automation matter more than the base price
Transactional-heavy Premium or an alternative Daily cap and feature gates Receipts and resets must arrive without a cap or tier workaround

Check each cell against your own busiest day before you commit.

Stay on Free if you're testing integrations or sending a small newsletter that fits under the daily cap on its heaviest day.

Free costs nothing, so the only question is whether a spike will be throttled. If one send ever has to span several days to fit, you're already paying in delay.

Essential fits if the cap isn't your problem but a missing feature is. Small newsletters outgrowing Free and early-stage ecommerce shops usually land here. Price it with every feature you need switched on, because a plan that lacks one of them isn't the cheaper plan.

Choose Premium or an alternative if you send transactional mail that mustn't queue, or your ecommerce flows depend on gated automation and segmentation.

At that point, get the full quote for your real volume and features.

If a plan only becomes clear after a sales call, treat that as a cost and compare it with providers that publish their tiers.

Keep Mailjet contact lists in sync with Activepieces

Your contact count is the one part of Mailjet's bill you control, and that is where Activepieces, an automation tool that connects apps through trigger-and-action flows, helps: its Free plan costs $0 and allows unlimited flows, so the sync adds no line to your budget.

Activepieces pricing page showing four subscription tiers with features and monthly costs.

Since contact count is one of the gates that moves you up a tier, a list full of dead addresses is a cost you're choosing to carry.

Which Mailjet contact tasks to automate

Three sources tend to create the mess: a web form, a CRM (the system where your sales team keeps customer records), and a shop's order system.

With 746 integrations to draw on, Activepieces lets each of them feed one flow that writes to a single Mailjet contact list, so you can consolidate contact data from hundreds of different sources.

Every change in a source system becomes one matching change on the list, with no manual export in between.

The practical value is the remove arrow. A form signup adds a contact, a CRM edit updates a name or a tag, and an unsubscribe or a cancelled account removes or flags the record.

Without that last step, people who left months ago still count toward your contact total, and you pay to email nobody.

The same logic cuts duplicates. When the form, the CRM and the shop each create their own entry for one person, a flow that checks for an existing contact before adding keeps you from counting that person more than once.

What it does not change

Activepieces doesn't alter Mailjet's pricing, raise its daily send cap, or unlock a feature your plan gates. Its own side of the bill is small: a run costs 1 credit however many steps it has, and the Free plan includes 1,000 credits a month.

Activepieces pricing page with four subscription tiers showing features and monthly costs

It only keeps the contact side of the equation honest. If your real volume lands in a more expensive tier, a tidy list won't move you out of it.

It's also irrelevant if you send by hand.

A sender who uploads a list for an occasional campaign has no recurring sync to automate, and a flow would add a tool to maintain for no saving.

Price your plan on real volume first; automate only once contact churn is a recurring chore.

Frequently asked questions

Confirm four pricing details against your own volume before you commit, because the body leaves them unsettled:

  • Whether annual billing takes the same percentage off every plan, or only some
  • Whether the Free plan puts Mailjet branding on your messages
  • What happens when you exceed your monthly volume: a forced upgrade, overage charges, or throttled sending
  • Whether Starter carries a daily send limit

Open details to check

Each one can move your real bill away from the plan name, so check them before you compare totals.

Free plan and billing basis

Is Mailjet free to use? Yes, there's a free plan, but it's capped, so treat it as a place to test deliverability and templates, not as a production sending plan. Once your daily or monthly volume outgrows it, the paid tiers set your cost.

Does Mailjet charge per contact or per email? Mailjet's pricing is built mainly around emails sent, not contacts stored. Contact and feature gates still apply on some tiers, so a large list on a low-volume plan can force an upgrade you didn't budget for.

Cancelling and trials

Can I cancel Mailjet or downgrade at any time? Check the billing terms for your plan before assuming so.

Monthly billing is normally the flexible option, while an annual commitment can limit how much you recover if you downgrade midway. If flexibility matters, pay monthly until your volume is predictable.

Does Mailjet offer a free trial of paid plans? This isn't confirmed here. The free plan is the practical way to test, but it hides how paid-only features and higher limits behave. Verify the current offer on the pricing page.

Comparing with Mailchimp

Is Mailjet cheaper than Mailchimp? It depends on your volume and which features you need. Compare both vendors at your actual send count, with the add-ons you would really use, because the entry-level price on either side is rarely what you end up paying.

Share

Running the numbers

See what the same workload costs here.

Free forever plan, and every paid plan self-hosts at no extra cost.

See pricing Talk to sales