You can't learn much from Beamer's headline price, because the limits that bite (segmentation, languages, user seats, branding removal) sit on specific tiers instead of spreading evenly across all of them, a pattern that matters more to teams wiring changelog updates into tools like Activepieces than to anyone just comparing sticker numbers.

Beamer pricing and plan tiers
Beamer is a changelog and in-app announcement tool: it publishes product updates to a widget inside your app, a standalone changelog page, and notification feeds.
To compare the four plans (Free, Starter, Pro, Scale), the table below sets them against price, audience cap, seats, languages and notable gates, so you can determine which best aligns with your requirements.
"Not stated" means this article has no confirmed figure for that cell, so treat it as a question to put to Beamer's sales or support team, not as a zero or an "unlimited".
| Plan | Monthly price | Annual price | MAU cap | Teammates | Languages | Notable gates |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Starter | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Pro | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Scale | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
*Table 1: Beamer plans, reviewed 2026-11-01. *
Check each tier's page directly, and ask support to confirm in writing the gate you depend on.
If you are running this arithmetic for your own team, see what the same workload costs on Activepieces.
What Beamer's free plan includes
For a small team, the free plan still runs a real changelog widget. It stops at segmentation, extra languages, added teammates and branding removal, which is why those are the gates to confirm first.
You get the working core: a widget on your site or app, a place to publish updates, and enough audience capacity to find out whether users read them.
The catch is that it's built for one person publishing one version of each update to everyone.
Limits that force an upgrade
- A cap on monthly active users, past which you must upgrade
- One seat, so no teammates can publish or edit alongside you
- One language, so no translated versions of an update
- Beamer branding stays on the widget
- No segmentation, so every user sees every post
- Only basic analytics, so ask support exactly which metrics it covers before you rely on them
Which teams can stay on Beamer's free plan
If you're a solo founder or a small product with a single-language audience, you can stay free, provided you accept Beamer's branding and send the same update to everyone.
If a second person needs to publish, you have an international audience, or you need to show different posts to different customer groups, that ends it. Decide which of those you can't live without, and that tells you which tier to price.
What Beamer costs at three realistic usage levels
From $0 a year at 1,000 monthly active users (MAU) to $2,988 at 50,000+, that is the range for the tier you need, so determine your MAU before you select. The two $99-a-month add-ons cost the same $1,188 a year at every size.

The table, built from Glink's Beamer pricing guide, shows the base plan alone, so add the add-ons on top.
| Usage level | Base plan per year | Equivalent per month | Each add-on per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo founder, 1,000 MAU | $0 | $0 | $1,188 |
| 20-person team, 10,000 MAU | $1,188 | $99 | $1,188 |
| Larger company, 50,000+ MAU | $2,988 | $249 | $1,188 |
At 1,000 MAU the base plan is $0 a year. One add-on is $1,188, so the add-on becomes your entire bill and the "free" headline stops describing what you pay.
At 10,000 MAU the base plan is $1,188 a year, the same as one add-on, so if you want more features you'll be paying double.
Take one and you pay $2,376; take both and you pay $3,564, triple the sticker price, so the second feature costs as much as the first.
Larger company needing segmentation and SSO
At 50,000+ MAU the base plan is $2,988 a year, or $249 a month. Both add-ons bring the total to $5,364, so the add-ons are now under half of the spend instead of most of it.
Which add-on covers segmentation or SSO is the question to put to sales before you sign, since the plan alone won't answer it.
Hidden costs and limits Beamer users run into
Look past those two $99 add-ons, which are only the visible extras. Extra audience packs, monthly billing, branding removal and staff time all sit outside the headline number, so the real bill runs higher than the plan card.
Features gated by tier
Grow your audience and the bill rises even if you never change plan, because extra monthly-active-user packs cost $50 a month per 5,000.
Compare the steps, though: the API allowances rise much faster than the prices do. According to the Beamer API docs, Free gets 1000 requests a month and Starter 2000.
That's roughly 33 calls a day on Free, so a nightly sync script can exhaust it. Pro gets 20000 and Scale 100000, which means any integration-heavy setup is really a Pro or Scale purchase, whatever the feature list suggests.

When Beamer's built-in channels fall short and an announcement has to reach Slack, email or a CRM, Activepieces can carry it there, and it meters the run, not the steps inside it: 1 credit per flow run on its pricing page, so a ten-step flow that posts to Slack, emails a list and updates a CRM record costs the same as a two-step workaround.
Zapier's pricing page bills per task and Make's per module, which taxes you for splitting work into smaller, more reliable steps. The free plan gives you 1,000 credits a month with unlimited flows, and MoneyGram, Moneypenny, Alan and FundingSocieties run Activepieces in production.
Before you assume a clean widget comes with the plan, confirm which tier carries branding removal, because it also sits on a higher tier.
Beamer billing, annual versus monthly pricing
According to Produktly's Beamer breakdown, Starter is listed at 49 – 59 $ per month and Scale at 249 – 299 $ per month. The lower figure is the annual rate and the higher the monthly one.
That's a premium of about $10 on Starter and $50 on Scale, roughly 20% either way.
If you choose monthly billing for flexibility, you pay about two and a half months' fees extra across a year. Annual billing removes that premium but commits you before you know whether the gated feature works for your team.
Work the price doesn't cover
No tier covers the hours spent writing changelog entries, maintaining segments, translating posts or answering the first round of feedback.
At $49 a month, a tool that needs a few hours of someone's week isn't a $49 tool once you include the labor component. Count those hours at your own internal rate before you compare plans.
Worth checking against a plan that does not meter every step: one credit covers a whole run on Activepieces.
Beamer against its closest alternatives on price
No headline price settles whether Beamer is the cheapest or the dearest of the five, because each tool gates a different feature first.
This comparison quotes no prices, since I have no confirmed current figures for these plans and a stale number would be worse than none.
No headline price settles whether Beamer is the cheapest or the dearest of the five, because each tool gates a different feature first.
Read each row below for what the tool is built around, which tells you where its paywall is most likely to hurt you.
| Tool | Built around | Check first on its pricing page |
|---|---|---|
| Beamer | Changelog, in-app notifications, segmentation | Whether segmentation, extra languages and branding removal sit on your tier |
| Headway | Lightweight changelog widget | Whether branding removal and your user count fit the entry plan |
| Canny | Feedback boards and roadmaps | Whether the changelog is a full feature or an add-on to feedback |
| LaunchNotes | Release communication for product teams | Whether the tier you need includes audience targeting |
| AnnounceKit | Changelog and announcement widget | Whether your languages and segments are covered by the entry plan |
If you only need a public changelog with no targeting, a simpler widget such as Headway's is likely to cost less. You wouldn't be paying for segmentation you never switch on. Canny fits better if feedback collection is the real job and announcements are secondary.
When you need audience segmentation, several languages and a widget without its branding at the same time, Beamer earns a higher tier.
When a Beamer alternative is the better buy
Beamer is not the right answer for every team, and the four gates are the fair way to show it. Judge each rival on seats, languages, segmentation and branding removal, and the choice usually becomes obvious.
Headway suits a team that wants a changelog and nothing else. If you publish in one language to one audience, a lightweight widget leaves you with nothing paid for and unused.
Canny suits a team whose real job is collecting feedback: its voting boards and roadmap come first, and the changelog follows from what customers asked for.
LaunchNotes is built around release communication for product teams, so it may fit better if launches involve several stakeholders. AnnounceKit is the closest like-for-like, since it covers the same changelog and widget ground.
If your languages and segments sit on its entry plan and Beamer's gates push you up a tier, it is the cheaper route.
Beamer's strength is in-app targeting, with the widget, the changelog page and the notification feed in one place. That is worth paying for only if you will actually switch on the targeting.
Zapier's ready-made integrations versus Beamer automation
The same fairness applies to the glue layer. Zapier has the A catalogue of ready-made app connections, and if the link you need from Beamer to your CRM already exists as a template, you can have it running in minutes with nothing new to learn.
Make's visual canvas is strong when a workflow branches and rejoins, and it is easy to see what happened at each module.
Judge them on the same criteria as everything else here: how the meter counts, how many steps you need, and who hosts it.
For a short flow that runs a few times a week, per-task or per-module billing barely registers, and a tool your team already knows beats a cheaper one nobody has opened. Per-run metering starts to matter when flows grow long or run often.
Which Beamer plan to choose on Monday
Take the free plan if its limits cover the one feature you can't drop. If they don't, buy the cheapest paid tier that unlocks that feature and ignore the headline price.
- Name the single feature you can't live without: segmentation, extra languages, more users, or branding removal. If you name two, you'll end up buying the more expensive tier.
- Check that feature against the Free limits. If Free covers it, stop here and stay put.
- Find the cheapest tier that unlocks it, reading the feature list rather than the plan names, since a tier's label says little about what is gated.
- Re-verify the price on the vendor's pricing page the same day you decide. Quotes in old reviews, including this one, go stale.
- Start a trial and test the feature with real content and a real teammate. Confirm the limit that bit you before is gone.
This table covers the four gated limits instead, since those decide the bill.
| Limit | What it does to you | What to check on Free |
|---|---|---|
| Segmentation | Everyone sees every post | Whether you can target by audience at all |
| Languages | One-language changelog for a global base | How many languages a post can carry |
| Users | Writers share logins or wait | How many seats you get |
| Branding removal | Their logo stays on your widget | Whether the badge can be hidden |
What Activepieces does about this
Activepieces doesn't unlock any of the four gates that decide a Beamer bill. Segmentation, extra languages, seats and branding removal stay on whichever Beamer tier carries them, and no outside tool changes that.
What it can change is the part of the cost that comes from gluing Beamer to the rest of your stack: the Slack post, the email to a customer list, the records who was told what.
That glue is where the hours go, and those hours are the work the price doesn't cover. In Activepieces you build the flow once and it runs on its own.
It is billed at 1 credit per flow run on the pricing page, however many steps it has. The free plan gives you 1,000 credits a month with unlimited flows, so you can test whether a publish-then-notify routine earns its place before you spend anything.

A ten-step flow costs the same as a two-step one, so you can split the work into small, checkable steps instead of cramming it into one fragile one.
Be careful with the API row in the tier comparison. If a flow calls Beamer's API, those calls still count against your tier's request allowance. A nightly sync on the 1000-request Free plan will still run into that ceiling.
Check the allowance first, and let it tell you whether the automation belongs on your plan.
If you'd rather not pay per run at all, Activepieces' community edition is open source under the MIT licence, so you can self-host it and carry the infrastructure cost yourself. MoneyGram, Moneypenny, Alan and FundingSocieties run it in production.
The decision still starts where this article started: name the one Beamer feature you can't drop, price the tier that holds it, and only then ask whether automation around it is worth building.

Frequently asked questions
Does Beamer offer a free trial?
Treat a trial as unconfirmed until Beamer's pricing page shows it on the day you buy, and check which tier it covers. A trial that leaves out the tier holding segmentation, extra languages or branding removal tells you nothing about the plan you'll need.
If the page is silent, ask sales in writing which features the trial unlocks before you rely on it.
Can I cancel Beamer or downgrade mid-term?
Read Beamer's terms of service and billing pages before you pay, because they govern cancellation and downgrades, not a sales call. The question that matters is whether a downgrade removes the features you chose the plan for.
If you've built segmented announcements or a multilingual changelog, a drop to a lower tier could switch those off. Get the answer from support in writing, and keep the reply.
I can't point to a published startup or nonprofit program, so I won't tell you one exists.
If you qualify, ask support directly and get any discount in writing, with the tier it applies to named. A discount on a plan missing your must-have feature is a smaller saving than it looks.
Related reading
References
Running the numbers
See what the same workload costs here.
Free forever plan, and every paid plan self-hosts at no extra cost.
See pricing Talk to sales


